Tags

Winter's consequence

Winter's consequence

Last  May, my husband and I moved about 30 miles to a lovely country property closer to my new job.  Our little country cottage sits on about two acres which border a largely wooded area off a steep enbankment.  On the property itself sits two small ponds, one “stocked” with goldfish and the other frequented by families of bullfrogs.  It was quite enjoyable watching them over the past year.  I’ve been looking forward to the spring thaw and the re-emergence of the area’s inhabitants.

As I was strolling through the property last week, on a day when the temperatures promised a thaw in the near future, I noticed that one of my amphibian friends did not make it through his winter’s hibernation.  It is unclear whether he never made it past early winter, or perhaps emerged from his slumber too early.  Regardless of either, he is frozen in time for the moment, a temporary memorial to winter’s consequences.

