Tags

Uphill battle

Uphill battle

I was experimenting with shutter speeds and capturing motion.  I spent close to an hour watching these magnificent steelhead jumping upstream toward their next destination.  Literally hundreds of them were gathered at the mouth of a stream feeding into the Great Lake.  Every few moments, one would gather enough energy and jump to the next level.  Some made it, stopping to rest with the others who charged forward, while others fell and plunged backward with the force of the rapids.  Not one of the fish who fell back was deterred.  Not one I observed returned to the calmer waters of the lake, instinct and perserverance driving them forward.  Who would have thought it more admirable to be a fish rather than me in one of my darker moments?  I find lessons everywhere.

