Tags

, , , ,

Standoff

Standoff

I’m an outside woman.  When I have a few free moments, I love to be outside.  Such was the occasion a few days ago, before the weather turned cold enough to drop a few inches of snow on our greening grasses.
 
My cat and I were hanging out in the yard, looking for photo ops (Clarification:  I was taking photos–he was hunting squirrels and chipmunks.).  Neither of us was having much luck, so we took to laying in the grass, taking in the softness of the afternoon.
 
Our peace was disrupted by the appearance of the neighbor’s Black cat.  Festivus went into full alert.  Black cat appeared nonchalant.  The stand-off had begun.  So had my photo op session.
 
Festivus began moving forward and, eventually, so did Black cat.  I prepared.  I metered.  I set to continuous shooting.  I had my aperture and my shutter speed just where I wanted it when the stand off came to its climax.  I was ready for action.
 
The two slowly crept toward one another, coming face to face after a slow and cautious approach to the pending battle.  They touched noses (finger on the camera, ready to shoot)–and then, just like that, Black cat turned abruptly, as if he were offended by something unknown.  Off he marched to conduct whatever other business a cat conducts on a lazy, anti-climatic Saturday afternoon.
 
We returned to our cuddling in the grass.  Come to think of it, purrs are way better than battle cries.
 
(Editor’s note:  Given my love for my furchildren, no animals would have been allowed to actually engage in battle–as much as I love my camera, I would have dropped it like a hot potato at the first hiss…just fyi 🙂 )
 

