Tags

, ,

Penthouse living

Penthouse living

Did you ever wish you could fly? 

When I was little, I often dreamt of flying.  Truth be told, I actually used to run up and down our long dirt driveway on warm summer days, thinking that if I just ran fast enough, I could catch some air and take off.  Never worked–but I kept at it anyway.  And just a few hours ago, I glanced out my window to see several turkey vultures gliding through the air with the greatest of ease, catching the air waves and looking oh-so-very graceful.  There it was again, that wonderment and childlike wishing. 

Wouldn’t it be great, just for a few minutes?

While traipsing through the woods behind our home this weekend, enjoying the sights and fresh air, I glanced up.  High in the treetops sat the penthouse, pictured to the right.  I don’t have wings, so I could not be the peeping tom I wanted to be.  I do, however, have a sneaking suspicion this might be the humble abode for a family of great horned owls.  Several evenings a week since late January, I have been privileged to overhear the unmistakable hooting of the great horned owl.  I know they are nesting somewhere nearby, and my research of nest images tells me this may, in fact, be their nest.

And even if its not, it never hurts to dream.

