Tags

, , ,

I can be anybody today
I can be anybody today

Who will I be today?  Who can I be today?

 Upon reflection, as I lean in to my adulthood, I am beginning to learn how to re-invent myself, almost daily.  Perhaps it is because the fear of failure subsides as we grow older.  There are only so many more years to do the things we thought we’d like to do in our 40’s and 50’s.  Suddenly, we are in our 40’s and 50’s.  Our list of to-do’s is no shorter than it had been in the last decade.  The only real failure now is not crossing off at least some of our to-dos.

I like this picture–not because it is a picture (actually, a digital painting) of me.  For all the enjoyment I derive from taking photos, I hate having my own picture taken.  No, that’s definitely not it. 

I am certainly not enamored with its exquisite technical qualities, as it was taken, I’m guessing, with my cell phone. 

What I like about this is the memory I have of how I got to the top of this mountain.  How miserable I felt during the long climb and how wonderful I felt when I finally claimed the cliff as my own, even it was only for a few moments.  You see, I also had to come off the mountain.  I could not stay there.  The moment was wonderful, but the day was new and there was much work to be done.  We had several more climbs, which meant several more descents.  Descending is always more painful and arduous than climbing.  I wasn’t sure what the weather was going to be like.  But it didn’t matter.  I was prepared, in my head and in my soul, to weather any storm that day.  I had decided that day that I was going to make it.  No matter what the day brought.  I had things to see and places to get to before it was time to lay my head down and rest.

I can be anybody today.  Thank God.

