Tags

,

seaoatsfs900

Could this be, a truffala tree?

 

Nothing makes me happier than tromping through the backcountry, leaves crinkling and crunching beneath my step–or, walking along a sandy, sunlit beach to the chorus of waves hitting the shore. 

Music to my ears, peace for my soul.

I’ve mentioned (once or twice, at least) my love for the outdoors.  I suspect it is evident in the images I like to capture.  They are the things that represent beauty in life to me.  The artwork of my Higher Power, and the places I am most likely to be when I feel closest to that presence.

This week, we celebrate Earth Day.  It is a reminder for all of us that the earth beneath our feet is a gift to be cherished and nutured.  Perhaps gift is the wrong term.  It infers the earth belongs to us.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  As much as we all live on borrowed time, we walk on borrowed soil. 

A lover of Theodor Seuss Geisel (Dr. Seuss), The Lorax was my one of my first awakenings to the thought that we might need to pay a bit more attention to how we treat our beloved earth.  His poetic children’s prose are words I hope I live by so that those who follow enjoy the same beaches and forests I cherish.

 “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better.  It’s not.  You’re in charge of the last of the truffula seeds. And truffula trees are what everyone needs! Plant a new truffula. Treat it with care. Give it clean water, and feed it fresh air. Grow a forest. Protect it from axes that hack. Then the Lorax, and all of his friends may… come back.” Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

Happy Earth Day. 

