Tags

,

Sittin' on the dock of the bay

Sittin' on the dock of the bay

This is dedication.

While out and about one early weekend morning, scouting retinal-damaging sunrise photos (my usual M.O.), I wandered out to one of the lake’s bay areas.  Easter weekend, if I recall.  The wind was blowing hard, and it’s typically about five degrees colder near the lake than the rest of the county.  

Forty degree morning.  Five degrees colder near the lake. Probably another five degrees lower for wind chill….yikes.  Thirty degrees!  And yet there this man sat, enjoying (I hope) the early morning sunrise and, what I surmise to be, one of his favorite things to do. 

Either that, or he’d had a bad falling out with his wife and sittin’ on the dock of the bay–cold or not–seemed like the better place to be.

“Sittin’ in the mornin’ sun
I’ll be sittin’ when the evenin’ come
Watching the ships roll in
And then I watch ’em roll away again, yeah….”

(recorded by the late Otis Redding)

