Tags

,

Escape

Escape

I took an early morning jaunt to the park, in hopes of clearing my head and finding something to photograph.  Not necessarily in that order.  I saw this frame in one of my favorite park areas.  So very apropos.

One modern day spiritual philospher tells us, “Wherever you go, there you are”, reminding us that, to fully enjoy life, one must stay in the present.  This is conflictual for me.  Sometimes I do not like my present.  Why would I want to stay there?  I seek to escape.  But those far wiser than me speak the truth.  We really are the creator of our own destinies–not that we are necessarily in control of our surroundings or situations; rather, we have the most control over how we accept and work through both the good and not-so-good moments of our lives.  Vowing that we will make the best of situations and, if need be, summon the courage to change them, is the essence of serenity.

I’m still a work in progress.

