A horse is a horse, of course, of course

A horse is a horse, of course, of course

 

 

Let me introduce you to one of my neighbors. 

This is  …  well, I don’t really know his name.  But he and about 20 other four-legged creatures live about a quarter of a mile up the road from me.  They are some of my very favorite photographic subjects–albeit, I don’t get the best pictures of them because they like to move around on me a lot.

Moreover, I absolutely love that they race over to the fence, each and every time I visit, as if to say, “Can I help you?”  “How’s it going?”  “What you got there in your hands–hay?  Fresh grass????”

Even though I come bearing nothing , several of them sidle up to the fence and let me scratch their beautiful, velvety soft noses.  Very few remain standoffish.  Perhaps they are really much more interested in one another and who will get the evening’s fresh hay.  But many can’t resist their own curiousity of who that strange, short, two legged being at the fence line might be.

And then, after a few moments of scratching and a blink of those soulful, full brown eyes, they turn and head back to the barn, one by one, to finish off their treat for the night.

Never a more amazing moment than when you’re with an entirely different species and, within a matter of a few moments, you know you’ve had a conversation without any words being spoken.

We are never really alone, are we?

