Bing--the cherry, not the crooner

Bing--the cherry, not the crooner

I’m recovering from several things in life, as are most people–but, alas, there is always one lingering vice.  And, in light of this blog documenting my personal journey, I put before you that one singular threat to my digestive sobriety. 

Yes, the dreaded bing cherry.

Mid-June to mid-August, each year, they arrive in our local market by the thousands.  It is a good thing thing I am gainfully employed and duly exhausted during the week, as I fear I would be making a daily trip to satisfy my cravings for this round, sweet, juicy fruit.  Which, by the way, is not cheap!

Does that matter?  No.  No, it does not.  Like a crack addict, I reach deep into my pockets, every weekend (and at least one stop during the week, on my way home) to purchase my fix.  Friday is grocery night and last evening was no exception.  Five plus pounds of cherries, first thing in the cart.  My husband shakes his head because, he knows, I can easily polish these off before the evenings end.  No joke.  I’m a slight woman, but the bag of my cherry treasures is generally bigger than my own head….

As August nears, I begin to wean myself, as I know the season for the my round, juicy addiction is nearing a quick end.  I try and fall in love with some other fruit, but to no avail.  I know the drill.  August is just plain rough.  BCWS (Bing Cherry Withdrawal Syndrome) is right around the corner.

Yikes.  Better go to the grocery store.

Have a good weekend 🙂

 

