The chilis man

The chilis man

This morning, not wanting to lug around even my Xsi, I took out my small Nikon Coolpix and once again ventured into the not-so-wide open spaces of downtown Los Angeles.  Having awakened at 3 am (I am three hours off of my normal Eastern Standard time) and put in a 3.25 mile run, I found myself wide awake and wondering what to do next.  I caught up on some reading, ventured out for coffee, and decided to take a stroll to the open market, just a few blocks away from the hotel.

I consulted my map.  The Grand Market was only four blocks away.  After the first block, I quickly became the only non-Latino individual on the street.  I strolled my blonde haired, blue eyed 120 lb frame down the street, trying to blend in to my surroundings.  I’m not sure how stealth I appeared in my bright pink Life is Good running shirt, but I found my way in spite of myself.

The market place is interesting indeed–nothing like the several tiered, people-packed atmosphere of the Pike’s Place market in Seattle–much more modest in size, but no less filled with marketeers selling their wares to willing buyers.  Well worth the walking adventure to experience a very small piece of this interesting city’s makeup.

