In the distance

In the distance

After the harvest

After the harvest

As rain beats against my office window, I recognize how close the colder weather was lurking, cloaked in a few, glorious, mid-fall days.  And now it cools, and the brilliant colors painting the nearby landscapes begin to fade.  Slowly at first, but more rapidly as the rain sweeps the colorful clingers from the branches they have grasped so valiantly.

It is a wonderful thing, photography.  I am not quite ready to embrace the barren forests behind our home and, so, I treat myself to a few more glimpses of fall in these posts.  My favorite season.  Apples.  Sweaters.  Pumpkins and ciders.  The beautiful, beautiful leaves.  A season holding a vast array of sensations to feast your eyes upon, taste and smell.  I sat yesterday and listened to the birds chirping loudly at one another and heard the sound of leaves coming to the ground, one after another.  Crashing, it seemed, among those who had fallen minutes and days before them.

I am grateful to be witness to yet another year of this season’s handiworks. 

