Tags

, , ,

Fading farm

One of my favorite barns.  I hadn’t driven past it in quite some time.  It saddens me to do so, the adjacent farm house–still being lived in–following in its footsteps.

A few weeks ago, I had occasion to be riding on the dirt road it inhabits and noticed it to be in an even greater state of disrepair.  Nearly one side is now gone, the back roof continuing its collapse.  It appears as though the barn, once majestic and likely thriving and cared for at the hands of a proud farmer, is now a fading dinosaur–a victim of corporate farms who mass produce our food with a variety of ugly consequences for both the American consumer as well as the innocent farm animals.  We are our own worst enemies.  The haste of our daily pace in life leads us to fast foods and microwaveable meals.  I sometimes wonder if we consume more chemical than meat or vegetable.

This year, on our small 2 acre lot, we have planted a quarter acre’s garden as well as a bevy of dwarf fruit trees, berry plants and bushes, and a sizeable vegetable garden.  I’ve started a few hives of bees and intend on getting a few chickens (I haven’t eaten chicken from the store in at least a year after reading some of the atrocities occuring with how they are raised by mass producers).  I might even get a goat for some milk.  Eggs are bought at the organic farm two doors down.  Its is not just a matter of health–although this is a primary concern–but also a small and very personal protest against what we’ve become as a society.

One this Independence Day, I ponder what our founding fathers might think of us today.

