One woman’s workshop

This is a different My Space.  This is MY space.  Its my workshop.  I hang out here.  I build stuff (or I try to).  I paint (sometimes with my fingers).  I have a stereo, magazines, my hot glue gun, Dremels, a sewing machine, my cordless drill (thanks, honey) and, of course, a Christmas present from a few years ago–my miter saw.  I also have my flowers, some of my photos and, in the right forefront, my brand new porter cable circular jig (thanks again, honey).

My laptop can pick the main computer’s network up here, which is WAY great.  This space is the upper level of our smaller barn.  It has a beautiful view of the property, which I’ll share in another post some time soon.  I burn lovely smelling candles up in my workshop, and that makes it even more pleasant and inviting to me.

No boys allowed, by the way–at least not without permission! 

Unfortunately, I do share this space with some of the biggest, baddest looking spiders I have ever seen in my entire life.  Its not heated (yet), and there are plenty of other things that need to be done to it if we stay in this house and on this property.  We’ll see.  It also heats up about 10 degrees higher than the temperature outside.  Today, that would have been close to 100–so I am either going to sweat or not be in my space in really warm weather.

I am very fortunate to have a space like this–a treehouse, of sorts.  I actually refer to it as my “studio”.  I find it to be one of the most calming spaces I have ever been in.  I am not sure why–perhaps, because, I can go to my studio and do whatever I like.  Paint, draw, sing.  Saw, hammer…sit and have my coffee.  No pressures.  Just escape, for a little bit.  I can put up with a few badass spiders for that (actually, I keep a small wet-dry vac up here and suck them into oblivion when I catch them staring at me with their eight, beady little eyes.  Whoosh!  Spiders all gone 🙂 )

I hope you have a space of your own, whether it is behind your lens, in your garage, or a quiet place in your mind where you go and can be still.  Someplace that you can meditate and rejuvenate.  Some place where you can create a new part of you or encourage the growth of something laying dormant inside of you, waiting for the opportunity to show off.

Everyone’s an artist at heart.

All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.  –Pablo Picasso

 

 

